I look for them every summer. South Carolina doesn’t have a helmet law, so most riders don’t bother with one. That’s bad enough, of course. But the hot Carolina summer also encourages light clothing. Yet, until yesterday, I hadn’t seen the ultimate idiot clothing combination–that rare complete disregard for any sort of safety equipment. Well, I finally saw it: no helmet, shorts, tank top, and flip flops!
You see quite a lot of riders in in t-shirts and jeans. But they usually have the good sense to wear decent shoes or boots. Even those dumb enough to opt for shorts rarely go the whole hog and ride with nothing but flip flops. But, there you have it. To be fair, the idiot in question did have some aviator shades on. I guess that counts for something.