James E. Martin

Just the Facts

My name is James Martin.  This is my personal site.  My nickname is “Wheat” (or, the longer form, “Wheatbread”).

Brief Biography

I was born in 1970 in Ft. Worth, Texas. In my formative years, my family relocated to Huntsville, Arkansas. After high school, I had the good sense to move down the road to Fayetteville, Arkansas and study at the University of Arkansas. At the U of A, I earned three degrees (BA & MA in English, M.Ed. in Educational Technology), met my wife, Gina, played in several bands, and finally made the transition from restaurant work to what most people would call a “real” job.

In the fall of 2003, My wife and I relocated to Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, which is just outside Charleston, so she could pursue a degree in pharmacy, which she completed in the spring of 2007. In January 2008, our son, Haden, was born. We’re pretty crazy about him.

In July 2012, we moved back to Fayetteville, Arkansas.

Jobs and Such

Here’s my LinkedIn profile, and my résumé, if you want the whole rundown.

All Work and No Play…

When I’m not working, I like to play music, read, code, camp, cycle on our wonderful trail system, and generally be a part of the wonderful community that is Fayetteville, Arkansas.

Et Cetera

Pets:  We’ve had many over the years. Currently, we have two cats, Evie and Juno, and three very silly dogs, Dave, Janet, and Wally.

About the Blog

Wheatblog, my online blog/journal/whatever-you-want-to-call-it has been online since July 13, 2000. When it began, I used Blogger to maintain it, but then I decided to create my own blogging software. I started an open source project in 2001, which, for lack of a better name, I also called “wheatblog” (though I later named it “wheatblog app”).  I used my own software to maintain the site until late May 2008, at which point I ported it over to WordPress.  I’ll probably never get around to porting over the comments.